Buttermilk biscuits

buttermilkbiscuits

Here are my biscuits, made with the first real buttermilk I’ve ever had.

My friend Jenn gave me buttermilk the other day. It’s the first real buttermilk I’ve ever had. I confess, I didn’t know what to do with it, so I did the obvious: I made biscuits.

They were amazing.

When Greg tasted them, all he said was, “They taste like butter.” Then he entered them into his diet app on his iPad and started pressuring me to give the rest away. So, they are filled with calories. But so, so, so delicious.

Buttermilk Biscuits

2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more as needed
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon fine salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
8 tablespoons cold unsalted butter (1 stick), cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 cup cold buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.

Put all the ingredients except the buttermilk into a food processor. Process until the butter is cut into the flour, creating a sand-like consistency. Add the buttermilk and stir.

Drop spoonfuls of dough onto the baking sheet. Bake for 15-17 minutes, until very lightly browned.

Leave a Reply

