Peanut butter and sesame noodles

These sesame noodles are a fast and tasty side dish for summer parties and cookouts.

These sesame noodles are a fast and tasty side dish for summer parties and cookouts.

It has been a long time since I posted a recipe. I feel like my schedule has spiraled out of control and looking at the dates on this year’s posts only confirms it. I did no cooking this week. I was too busy with work, and then at night, sometimes, I would rather go to the gym to work off stress than make a real dinner. Cheese, humus and crackers are good friends on those nights.

And yet, I am not willing to give up this blog. For one thing, it contains recipes that I love and haven’t stored anywhere else. And, I still love cooking. I just need to get back to having space for it in my life.

I made the pasta pictured here last summer for one of the cookouts at our house. The noodles make a great side dish for grilled chicken, burgers _ anything really. You also don’t have to worry about them too much in hot weather.

The recipe was given to me years ago by a friend in Connecticut. She brought the noodles to our house for a cookout, and I was like, “I need to make this.” I was stunned by how easy it is. I still think of her whenever I make the dish or see variations of it.

I tend to make my sesame noodles fairly mild, but you can add heat by adding more Tabasco sauce. If you are really brave, try hot chili oil. Just make sure you taste as you go.

Sesame Noodles

16 ounces of linguine (I sometimes substitute soba noodles)
6 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2 tablespoons brown sugar
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup soy sauce
10 tablespoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon Tabasco sauce
6 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds
6 chopped scallions

Cook the pasta according to directions, rinse the noodles and let them cool. Make the peanut sauce by blending the next five ingredients in a food processor. Slowly add the sesame oil and Tabasco sauce. Toss the pasta with the peanut sauce, sesame seeds and scallions. Serve at room temperature.

One response to “Peanut butter and sesame noodles

Leave a Reply

