Applesauce muffins

I made applesauce muffins with a great recipe from Homestead Cook.

I made applesauce muffins with a great recipe from Farmstead Chef.

Lisa Kivirist, who runs Inn Serendipity in Wisconsin, is a great baker. Her zucchini cake is legend in our family, and I’ve been working my way through her latest cookbook and have loved almost everything I’ve tried. The pumpkin peanut butter bread wasn’t as delightful as some of the other recipes, but overall, I’d say it’s a five-star effort.

I made batch of applesauce muffins a few weeks ago and then made a second batch as soon as the first was gone. In the second one, I substituted bits of dried apple for the raisins, and it was equally as delicious. If you stick with raisins, I suggest soaking them for 5 to 10 minutes in boiling water before you use them to plump them up and make them tender. I like the texture better that way, although it’s completely a personal preference.

Applesauce Muffins

2 cups flour
1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 tablespoon allspice
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 cup applesauce
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/2 cup raisins (or chopped, dried apples)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease 12 muffin cups.

Cream the butter and sugar together. Beat in the egg. Beat in the applesauce and vanilla. Stir in the flour, cinnamon, allspice and baking soda. Stir in the raisins or chopped apple.

Spoon batter into the muffin cups. It will nearly fill them.

Bake the muffins for 20 to 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

