Pennsylvania Dutch Chocolate Pie

This is the last piece left of my friend Erica's Pennsylvania Dutch chocolate pie. I love it.

This is the last piece left of my friend Erica’s Pennsylvania Dutch chocolate pie. I love it.

In general, I try to avoid posting recipes with no pictures because, really, how do you know if you want to eat something if you can’t see it?

This raises a dilemma in regard to our recent pie party. The pies are gone. Eaten. And, I don’t have time right now to bake pies just to photograph them.

At the same time, I want to post several of these recipes before I lose them. The recipe below, for example, I accidentally deleted from my email and had to recover from the trash. Thank goodness, I could because it is delicious.

This is all my way of saying the photography won’t be great over the next few days or week. But, the recipes will.

In this case, I have one sliver of Pennsylvania Dutch chocolate pie still in my refrigerator. I am so looking forward to it. The pie is a simple kind of cake/cookie but it has a luscious layer of rich cocoa just inside the crust that is to die for.

My friend Erica inherited the recipe from her grandmother, and it reminds me of the kind of recipes I inherited from my great-grandmother, who was Pennsylvania Dutch. Those families can bake! I hadn’t encountered this specific recipe before, however, so I am very glad to have it now.

Pennsylvania Dutch Chocolate Pie (also called Funny Cake)

1 1/2 cup white sugar (split into 1/2 cup and 1 cup)

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1 1/3 cup of milk (split into 1/3 cup and 1 cup)

3/4 teaspoon vanilla (split into 1/4 teaspoon and 1/2 teaspoon)

1/4 cup margarine

1 egg

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

unbaked pie shell

To make chocolate layer:

Combine 1/2 cup sugar and cocoa powder. Add 1/3 cup milk gradually and stir. Then, stir in 1/4 teaspoon vanilla and set aside.

To make top layer:

Cream together margarine, 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. Add egg and blend. Then mix in alternately the flour, baking powder, salt and rest of the milk.

In unbaked pie shell, pour in chocolate layer and spread it around on the sides of shell. Then pour in the top, cake-like layer. Bake in 350 degree oven for 40 to 45 minutes (or until knife comes out clean in the middle). Top with whipped cream and shaved chocolate, if you desire.

One response to “Pennsylvania Dutch Chocolate Pie

  1. Hi Shelly, Your Mom made the chocolate pie when we visited last week, and I made it
    for Saturday dinner when we arrived home. How yummy! Everyone loved it! Thanks,
    Barb Crawford

Leave a Reply

