Southern honey pie

I made this honey pie for our second annual pie party.

I made this honey pie for our second annual pie party.

G. and I have hosted a pie party for the past two years. Each household brings a pie, we taste the various pies and then we vote on the top two, which win prizes.

Last year, two men won with pecan and crème de menthe pies. This year, the winners were female. They made a Mexican quiche and a tomato-basil pesto tart.

This is the point where I should clarify that anything in a pie plate counts. So, quiches, cheesecakes in pie tins and the like are acceptable.

I made two pies this year, the pumpkin, maple and bourbon pie that I posted previously and a honey pie, using a recipe that my mom picked up at a cooking class in the Carolinas.

I was really nervous about the honey pie because I’d never made it before and it looked rather ugly. But everyone said they liked it. G. said the best part was the brown crust, which I thought looked like it was burning. But he said it tasted like caramelized sugar, and “everyone likes caramelized sugar.”

The bite that I had didn’t have the brown crust on it (and you can’t have more than a bite of each pie when there are 22 to taste). G. suggested that next time, I let the pie keep cooking until the entire top is browned. I think to do this, I’d probably use a pie guard to cover the edges and keep them from burning.

Also, I didn’t sprinkle sea salt on before serving, as the recipe suggested, but I think I would if I made it again. Only, I would do it right when the pie comes out of the oven, before the crust hardens, so the salt can sink into place.

Honey Pie

8 ounces butter (2 sticks)
6 ounces sugar
4 tablespoons cornmeal
1 teaspoon kosher salt
6 ounces honey
3 eggs
4 ounces heavy cream
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
sea salt to sprinkle on top
an unbaked pie crust

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Melt the butter in a saucepan on medium-to-low heat. Stir in the sugar, cornmeal, salt and honey.

Remove the pan from the stove and beat in the eggs, cream and vinegar. Pour into the pie shell and bake for 40 minutes.

If you wanted, you could sprinkle the top with sea salt.

NOTE: There is no mention of vanilla in the ingredients list that I received, and I didn’t use any. But the directions mention stirring in vanilla, so I think that if you added a teaspoon of vanilla, that would be fine and probably even good.

Leave a Reply

