A first attempt at applesauce cake

This applesauce cake was a bit too moist.

This applesauce cake was a bit too moist.

I have an applesauce cake recipe that I want to make.

This isn’t it.

I was at G.’s house, ready to make applesauce cake for company that was coming over and then I realized I had left the recipe I wanted in Milwaukee. So, I pulled out my trust copy of Ratio and started figuring out how to use the basic pound cake recipe to make applesauce cake.

The results weren’t bad, although a bit over-moist. If I do it again, I will cut the applesauce down to 4 ounces.

Applesauce Cake (The first attempt)

4 ounces butter (1 stick)
8 ounces brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
8 ounces flour
8 ounces applesauce

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour a pan. I used a Bundt pan, but you could use a loaf pan and just increase the baking time.

Beat the butter and sugar together until the butter starts to change color a bit and is reduced in volume by about a third. This takes 2 to 3 minutes.

Beat in the eggs one at a time.

Beat in the salt, vanilla and flour. Add the applesauce (remember, I recommend 4 not 8 ounces, although the picture is with 8) and beat the batter a little more.

Bake the cake for about 40 minutes. Let it cool before you remove it from the pan.

4 responses to “A first attempt at applesauce cake

  1. Good Morning ML,
    I tried to find an email address to send this link to you privately, but could not locate one. I know there are any varieties of Applesauce Cake, this is the one our family has made for decades. It is posted on my blog. We never liked fruit cakes instead opted for applesauce cakes instead.

    http://hbs1991.wordpress.com/2011/11/12/old-fashioned-applesauce-cake/

    I enjoy reading your blog.

  2. I actually LOVE an over-moist cake! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

