Baked oatmeal with pumpkin and walnuts

Oatmeal

This is my second try at baked oatmeal, and a little heartier because it uses steel-cut oats.

I just talked to my mom on the phone, and she was going to make the baked oatmeal that I posted the other day. I told her to stop because I just made a different version that I like better. It uses steel-cut oats, which I think are more satisfying. They seem to stick with me longer during the day.

And, because Mom and I are both trying to lose weight, I calculated the calories and nutritional value in this recipe. It makes four servings, with 306 calories per serving.

Here are the other details: 12.1 grams fat (2.7 grams saturated fat, and no trans fat); 9 milligrams cholesterol; 21 milligrams sodium; 40 grams carbohydrates (7.5 grams fiber and 8.4 grams sugar); and 7.7 grams protein. TONS of vitamin A, thanks to the pumpkin.

Baked oatmeal with pumpkin and walnuts
1 cup steel-cut oats
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
2 cups boiling water
1 cup pumpkin purée (I make my own, but you could use a cup of canned pumpkin)
1/2 cup milk (I used 1 percent)
1/3 cup chopped walnuts
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 tablespoons brown sugar

Grease an 8-by-8-inch baking pan. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Melt the butter in a saucepan and toss in the oats. Toast the oats for about 3 minutes, just until they start to brown.

Turn off the heat, and add the boiling water. Add the pumpkin, milk, nuts, cinnamon and brown sugar.

Pour the mixture into the greased baking pan. Bake the oatmeal for 50 to 60 minutes, checking near the end to make sure it doesn’t burn.

This dish can be made in advance and reheated in the microwave for a fast breakfast.

Leave a Reply

