Mom’s ham, roasted tomato and corn quiche

My mom has a great recipe for roasted tomato

My mom has a great recipe for ham, roasted tomato and corn quiche.

I usually have to work over the Christmas and New Year’s holidays, so I go to visit my mom beforehand, and we celebrate then.

This year, I hit North Carolina when it was oddly cold _ 50 degrees. Usually, it’s a bit warmer than that, and it warmed up right after I left. Go figure.

But, I had a great time. I got to see my cousin Jennifer for the first time in years. She recently returned from Nicaragua, where she was working as a missionary, among other things.

Mom made a great quiche one night, with roasted tomato, corn and onion. I just loved it. She uses frozen corn, so it can be made in the winter. Like me, Mom usually adjusts recipes as she goes. So, here it is with all her changes:

For the custard:
8 eggs (Mom used 4 or 5.)
1 quart cream (Mom used 1 cup of half-and-half.)
1/4 cup corn starch
1 teaspoon salt and pepper (Mom added salt and pepper to taste.)
Dash of cayenne pepper
Dash of nutmeg

For the filling:
1/2 cup country ham, diced
1 ear corn, sliced from cob
I cup sliced tomato
Several slices of red onion
2 cups of shredded cheese, a mixture of cheddar and Swiss

A pie shell.

Lay corn, tomatoes and onion in a pie pan. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast the vegetables at 350 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes to bring out the flavor.

Make the custard.

Put the cheese in the pie shell, followed by the ham and vegetables. Pour in the custard mixture.

Bake on the bottom rack of the oven at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes.

Leave a Reply

