Tacos with leftover turkey and cabbage

Tacos

One tasty and easy way to use leftover turkey from Thanksgiving is in tacos.

One of the best things about Thanksgiving is the leftovers. I love them. I will eat leftover turkey and stuffing until I am ready to burst. I will take turkey sandwiches to work for lunch for a week. Turkey tetrazzini is one of my favorite comfort foods.

But I know everyone doesn’t feel that way. So, as some of you are racking your brains for a new and creative way to use that leftover poultry, I give you my post-holiday offering: turkey tacos. They’re fast, easy and — compared to everything else I have eaten this week — healthy.

The recipe comes from Martha Rose Shulman, although her original uses ground turkey. I don’t make the tacos unless I have leftover turkey because, well, there are so many other things to make during the rest of the year. But after Thanksgiving, when fall cabbage is still plentiful in stores, these tacos are great.

Here is my version:

Tacos With Turkey and Cabbage
8 ounces tomato sauce
1 onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 pound cooked turkey, chopped
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon medium-hot chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 cup raisins
1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons cider vinegar
1 tart apple, peeled, cored and finely chopped
Salt to taste
corn tortillas
Shredded cabbage for serving (about 2 cups)
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
Crumbled queso fresco for serving

Toss the shredded cabbage with the cider vinegar. Set aside.

Heat some olive oil in a frying pan. Add the onion and garlic and cook until the onion is translucent.

Add the turkey, apple, spices, raisin and tomato sauce and cook until the apple softens and the sauce slightly thickens. Taste the filling, and add salt as needed.

I serve the filling in soft corn tortillas with cabbage and crumbled queso fresco on top.

One response to “Tacos with leftover turkey and cabbage

  1. Pingback: Don’t throw away the leftovers! | Be Organic and Healthy

Leave a Reply

