A lemon bar recipe from my mom

Lemon Bar photo

My mom’s lemon bars are very easy to make and delicious.

I have a lot of recipes that I’ve never made. I collect them _ even hoard them. And I aspire to make each one, but there’s limited time and G. and I can only eat so much before we start to feel sick.

My mom gave me this recipe for lemon bars almost a year ago. I thought I would make them as soon as I returned from visiting her, but I was busy working, moving, dancing and working more.

When G. went hunting last weekend, I finally had a little down time and tried the recipe out. It’s very easy, very fast and very good. I ended up wondering, “Why did it take me so long to get to this?”

My Mom’s Lemon Bars

Dough:
1 cup butter
1/2 cup confectioners sugar
2 cups flour

Lemon filling:
4 eggs, well beaten
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons grated lemon rind
1/2 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder

confectioner’s sugar for topping

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together the butter, sugar and flour. Spread the dough into an ungreased 9-by-13-inch pan. Bake it for 15 minutes.

Remove the crust from the oven, and lower the temperature to 325 degrees.

Beat the eggs in a bowl. Blend in the salt, sugar, lemon rind, lemon juice, flour and baking powder.

Spread the lemon mixture on top of the crust, and bake for 30 minutes. Store in the refrigerator.

Sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar and cool. Store in refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

