Too much zucchini, so now I’m putting it in gingerbread

I just made zucchini gingerbread. It's a little weird, like I tried to sneak something healthy over on myself.

I just made zucchini gingerbread. It’s a little weird, like I tried to sneak something healthy over on myself.

The garden has done well this year, which means that once again we’ve had more zucchini than we knew what to do with. There was a period when we were picking 16 — and 16 big ones — a week. We gave as many away as we could, and then friends and neighbors started looking nervous when they caught sight of us. I guess they’d had enough.

I made zucchini cake because G. and his mother love it. Then I made some more. And even more. But by then I was bored, and I wanted something a little different.

I found a recipe for zucchini gingerbread in my trusty zucchini and pumpkin cookbook and decided to try that because I like gingerbread.

G. does not, but he’d already had several cakes, so he was fine.

The gingerbread was OK. It wasn’t like eating a really great gingersnap cookie; in comparison, it felt a little healthy and a little disappointing. But I would make it again, if for no other reason than to have variety. You really need variety when you are tackling 16 big zucchini a week.

Zingerbread

3 cups grated zucchini
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups flour (I mixed in a little whole wheat with the all-purpose.)
4 teaspoons ground ginger
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup light unsulfured molasses
2 large eggs
1 cup hot brewed coffee

Combine the zucchini and salt in a colander, and let it sit for 30 minutes to drain.

Butter and flour a 9-by-13-inch baking dish.

Combine the flour, baking soda and spices in a bowl.

Cream together the butter and brown sugar. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Add the molasses and beat well.

Squeeze the zucchini to get rid of any remaining excess moisture. Add to the egg mixture and stir just to combine.

Add the flour mixture, alternating with the coffee. Mix just until combined.

Pour the batter into the pan, and bake at 350 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

