Another, better recipe for chocolate beet cake

I've made chocolate beet cake before, but this recipe is better. It comes from Tiger in a Jar.

I’ve made chocolate beet cake before, but this recipe is better. It comes from Tiger in a Jar.

I was cleaning out the freezer recently … or I should say, I was trying to clean out one of our freezers recently … and I found some beet puree from 2011. That was our awesome gardening year, when we had an overwhelming abundance of everything. It was followed, of course, by last year’s drought, which gave us a lot of eggplant and cauliflower, but almost no root vegetables.

I decided to use the forgotten carton of puree to try a chocolate beet cake recipe that I’ve been carting around since 2011, always meaning to try it and never quite getting to it.

I’ve made chocolate beet cake before. This recipe is better.

It comes from Tiger in a Jar. A friend sent me a link with her/their video, which is beautiful. The recipe is in the video, and the only issue is that it includes a baking temperature but no baking time.

I think I baked my cake about 40 minutes. I checked after 30 minutes and then kept checking until a toothpick came out clean.

Tiger’s Chocolate Beet Cake
2 cups beets, boiled and pureed
2 cups flour
1 1/2 cup brown sugar
4 ounces semisweet chocolate, melted
2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup butter
3 eggs
powdered sugar for dusting

Grease and flour a 13-by-9-inch pan.

Melt the chocolate and butter together. Beat in the eggs. Beat in the pureed beets and vanilla.

Add the sugar. Add the flour, baking soda and salt. Bake at 375 degrees until done — maybe about 40 minutes.

Let the cake cool, and then dust it with powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

