My favorite rice pudding

Rice pudding

My favorite rice pudding recipe, with cinnamon and raisins, comes from Cook’s Illustrated.

I went to make rice pudding a couple of weeks ago, and I was shocked that I didn’t have my favorite recipe posted on this blog. I’ve come to rely on the blog as the fastest way to find recipes that I want because it’s searchable by keyword. Otherwise, I often have to go hunting through dozens of cookbooks because I’ll know what dish I want to make but not remember which version.

With rice pudding, I know that my favorite recipe is from Cook’s Illustrated. It’s pretty simple, and you can make a couple easy variations. The one that I made the other day had cinnamon and raisins. Here it is:

Rice Pudding

1/4 teaspoon table salt
1 cup medium-grain white rice (Don’t use long grain.)
2 1/2 cups milk (I use 1 percent, and it’s fine.)
2 1/2 cups half-and-half
2/3 cup sugar
1 1/4 teaspoon vanilla

Bring 2 cups of water to boil in a large pan. Stir in the salt and rice, cover and simmer over low heat for 15 to 20 minutes. Make sure to stir it once or twice so it doesn’t burn or stick.

Add the milk, half-and-half and sugar. Increase the heat to medium-high to bring it to a simmer, then reduce the heat to maintain a simmer. Cook until it starts to thicken, about 30 minutes. Reduce the heat and continue to cook for another 15 minutes or so. Make sure you stir, so that it doesn’t burn. It will be ready when the spoon is just able to stand up in the pudding.

Remove the pudding from heat and add vanilla. If you want, you can add 1/2 cup raisins and a teaspoon of cinnamon too.

Leave a Reply

