Cranberry and Grand Marnier muffins

This will be my last blog post from Chicago. We are unhooking my Internet connection today and returning the equipment. The movers come this week.

I made muffins this morning to use the last of my butter and sugar. As you know, I’ve been trying for weeks to use up the food in my freezer and cabinets so that I would have less to move. I’ve gotten the volume down a lot, but I still have an interesting array of supplies. This morning, I found frozen cranberries, dried orange peel and Grand Marnier to use in my moving muffins.

Cranberry and Grand Marnier Muffins

6 ounces all-purpose flour
2 ounces whole wheat flour
4 ounces sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 stick butter (4 ounces)
2 eggs
8 ounces milk
1 teaspoon dried orange peel
1 tablespoon Grand Marnier
1 cup frozen cranberries

Combine the dried orange peel and milk in a microwave-safe cup. Heat the milk for about one minute so that it is warm. Let the milk sit for 10 minutes or so, so that the orange peel steeps.

Combine the flour, sugar, salt and baking powder in a bowl.

Melt the butter. Beat in the eggs. Pour the milk through a strainer to remove the orange peel. Beat the milk into the butter and eggs. Add the Grand Marnier.

Stir the dry ingredients into the butter mixture until it is smooth and not lumpy. I do this by hand to avoid over-mixing. Add the cranberries and stir them in.

Spoon the batter into a greased muffin tin. Bake at 350 degrees for about 22 minutes. My oven in Chicago runs hot, so you might have to go a bit longer.

This makes a dozen muffins.

20130323-103635.jpg

One response to “Cranberry and Grand Marnier muffins

  1. Oh yum!!!!

Leave a Reply

