Kamut, chicken and cherry salad

Grain salad

This is a whole grain salad featuring kamut, an ancient grain about twice the size of modern wheat.

I have been trying hard to use up the food in my freezer and cabinets before my upcoming move to Wisconsin. One of the items that had been sitting around a while was a 2-cup bag of kamut, an ancient whole grain.

I ordered it from a farm in Iowa on a whim, and then I was kind of like, “OK, what do I do with this?” But after reading a few articles about grain salads, I felt confident about coming up with one.

I bought a rotisserie chicken and some celery for crunch. I had dried cherries and sunflower seeds that I needed to use up, so those went in. I used peach vinegar because I had it, but anything fruity would probably do.

And you could always change up the cheese if you are like G. and think blue cheese is foul. Actually, part of why I used it in this recipe is because I rarely use it anything he would eat.

This salad has been my lunch this week. It keeps well.

Kamut, Chicken and Cherry Salad

1 cup kamut, cooked
2 cups rotisserie chicken, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
1/2 cup dried cherries
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup blue cheese, crumbled
1/4 cup white peach vinegar (or any other flavor you like)
1/4 cup olive oil

To cook the kamut, place 3 cups of water in a saucepan and bring it to a boil. Add the grain and cook for about 40 minutes, stirring occasionally. The grain will still have texture and be chewy, but not hard. Drain off the excess water.

Let the kamut cool, and then combine it in a bowl with the chicken, celery, cherries, sunflower seeds and blue cheese.

To make a vinaigrette, stir the vinegar while you pour in the oil. Technically, you want a 2:1 oil to vinegar ratio, but I like a more even split. Pour the vinaigrette over the salad and toss.

This will easily feed four and you’ll likely have leftovers. The kamut is very filling.

Leave a Reply

