Meyer lemon custard

20130221-210506.jpg

This custard is the first thing I’ve made with Meyer lemons.

I took a bit of a break from cooking after our pie party. G. and I went out some, and then I had company and we went out some more. I’ve also been trying to use up what’s in my freezer before I move, and that’s led to even less cooking.

But I was at the grocery store a few days ago, and I couldn’t resist buying a couple of Meyer lemons. I had read about them in cookbooks and magazines but never tried one until this winter, in part because I didn’t have a decent grocery store in my neighborhood in Chicago until last fall. My mom thinks they taste like a cross between an orange and a lemon, but I definitely taste more lemon than orange. They’re just a funny lemon.

I thought it would be great to make a version of my grandmom’s lemon cream pie with them, but then after all the pie we’ve had lately, I thought maybe I should give it a rest. Specifically, I thought I should give the crust a rest because I’m supposed to limit my consumption of refined, white flour.

I eventually decided to just make the pie filling and bake it in a water bath as a custard. I do this a lot with pumpkin pie filling, and this worked out just as well. It makes a light, tart dessert, which would be refreshing after a heavy meal.

Meyer lemon custard

1 cup sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons flour
2 Meyer lemons
1 tablespoon butter
2 large eggs
7/8 cup milk

Separate the eggs. Whisk the egg whites and set aside.

Mix the sugar and 1 1/2 tablespoons of flour.

Grate the rind of 1 lemon. Set it aside. Squeeze the juice from both lemons. Set it aside.

Mix the rind, lemon juice, butter, egg yolks and milk.

Fold in the egg whites.

Pour the batter into four lightly greased ramekins. Place those in a baking dish and fill 2/3 of the way up the sides with water.

Try baking it at 300 degrees for 45-50 minutes. The center should be just a bit jiggly. It will firm up as the pudding cools.

Leave a Reply

