My mom’s banana cream pie

Table at pie party

We hosted a pie party. This is just a sample of the pies people brought.

We had a pie party on Saturday: 30 adults, 3 children and 19 pies.

I got the idea from an article in Bon Appetit magazine last summer. At first, I thought the party would be small, but then G. and I kept thinking of more friends we wanted to invite. It grew, and it grew awesome.

I also decided to put my own twist on Bon Appetit’s idea and turn the party into a contest. After everyone sampled the pies, they voted on their two favorites. The winners were a perfect pecan pie made by my friend Paul and a grasshopper pie from my friend Mike.

The kids really liked the bright green grasshopper pie, and my mom remarked on that.

“It has alcohol in it,” Mike said.

“Oh!” my mom exclaimed. Later, she told me, “No wonder they liked it. They were all over the dance floor.”

I made a blueberry pie, which my friend Andale said was very good.

“I would have even voted for it,” he said. “But then there was your momma’s pie.”

She made a banana cream pie, and at the end of the night, when people were taking slices home, Andale scooped up the last two pieces.

“Your momma,” he said, shaking his head.

She does rock. And so, for you, my dear readers, here is my mom’s recipe:

Banana cream pie

My mom’s banana cream pie sits in the refrigerator before the party.

Banana Cream Pie
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour (or 3 tablespoons cornstarch)
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups milk
2 tablespoon butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 bananas
3 egg yolks
Keebler Graham Cracker Crumb Crust
Heavy cream whipped with sugar and vanilla

Slightly beat the 3 egg yolks and set aside.

Combine the sugar, flour and salt in a sauce pan. Gradually stir in the milk. Cook it over a medium heat, stirring constantly until the mixture boils and thickens. Cook 2 minutes longer. Remove the pan from the heat.

Next, stir a small amount of the milk mixture into the egg yolks. Add that mixture back into the original hot mixture and cook it for 2 minutes stirring constantly.

Remove the hot mixture from the heat, and add butter and vanilla. Let it cool, forming a custard.

Next, make the pie shell according to the directions on the Keebler package. Bake it at 450 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes.

Slice the bananas, and place the slices in the bottom of the shell.

Pour the cooled custard into the baked pie shell and over the sliced bananas.

Beat the heavy cream, adding sugar and vanilla to taste. Use the whipped cream to top the pie.

One response to “My mom’s banana cream pie

  1. Pingback: 61/365: National Banana Cream Pie Day | Eat My Words

Leave a Reply

