2 recipes for rhubarb pie

This is my first attempt at Rhubarb Orange Pie. The crust burned up.

This is my first attempt at Rhubarb Orange Pie. The crust burned up.

Our pie party is only a couple of days away, and many of my friends say they have been testing their recipes. One couple made six pies so far! Sandy, the wife, says they weren’t all great, but they all got eaten.

Meanwhile, I toyed with the idea of making a rhubarb pie, but the test run I did last week didn’t go so well, and I don’t have time for another.

The main problem with the recipe I used is that it calls for baking the pie at 425 degrees for 50 minutes. The filling was fine, tasty actually, but the crust just burned up. Mom and I discussed it, and the next time I try I’m going to go for 375 degrees and take the pie out once the crust starts to brown. And then hope the center solidifies enough.

Here is the original recipe, made from an old cookbook of my mom’s:

Orange Rhubarb Pie
2 eggs
1 3/4 cups sugar
1/4 cup flour
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg or mace (I used mace)
1/4 cup orange juice
4 cups chopped rhubarb

Beat the eggs. Beat in everything else except the rhubarb. Stir in the rhubarb. (Note: I used rhubarb that I chopped and froze over the summer. It thawed out fine.)

Pour the filling into the crust. The original recipe recommends a top crust. I didn’t use one this time. Mom suggests a lattice crust next time around.

The recipe says to bake the pie at 425 degrees for 50 minutes, but that burned my pie up.

Mom’s cookbook also has an alternate recipe that I plan to try at some point:

Fresh Rhubarb Pie
1 1/3 cups sugar
1/3 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon grated fresh orange peel
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 cups chopped rhubarb
2 tablespoons butter

Combine all the ingredients except the butter in a bowl. Stir and then pour the filling into a crust. Dot the butter on top. Add a lattice crust on top. Bake at 425 degrees for 40 to 50 minutes. (Although I’m assuming the temperature is too hot in this recipe too.)

One response to “2 recipes for rhubarb pie

  1. Try covering the edges of the pie with foil for about the
    last 15 minutes of baking. That will help prevent over browning ot
    the crust edges. You might also check your oven temp. The recipe I
    use from my well worn Betty Crocker cookbook says 425 too.

Leave a Reply

