Green pipian: Mole from tomatillos and pumpkin seeds

Mahi with green pipian.

G. and I had a healthy dinner with mahi with green pipian, spinach and sweet potatoes.

The time has come for me to return the Martha Rose Shulman cookbook I borrowed from the library. I wish I had made more of the recipes, but I was working overtime a lot and then I was on vacation, and … time just got away from me.

But on Sunday, I made a healthy dinner of mahi, spinach and sweet potatoes for G. and I, and I made Marth’s green pipian sauce to go over the fish. It’s a green mole made with roasted pumpkin seeds, and it has a nutty texture.

The recipe is more or less below, except I skipped the step of roasting the pumpkin seeds myself by buying pepitas, and I substituted spinach and water for lettuce and chicken broth. You know me, I use what’s in the house.

Green Pipian

1/2 cup pepitas (roasted, hulled pumpkin seeds)
1/2 pound tomatillos, husked, rinsed and coarsely chopped
1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded (I substituted 2 tablespoons of roasted poblano pepper)
3 lettuce leaves (or 6 spinach leaves)
1 small onion, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup loosely packed cilantro
1 1/2 cups water (or chicken stock)
salt to taste

Combine the first six ingredients with 1/2 cup water in a food processor or blender. Chop until fairly smooth.

Pour the sauce into a medium saucepan on a hot burner. Heat until it splatters. The sauce may brown a bit. Add the final cup of water and simmer for about 20 minutes so that the sauce thickens again. Season with salt to your taste.

This makes about 1 3/4 cups, and the sauce freezes well.

Leave a Reply

