My mom’s pumpkin pie

I haven’t been posting much lately because I’ve been busy with work and planning for our recent party. But just before Thanksgiving, one of my coworkers asked me for a pumpkin pie recipe. It went like this:

“Can I ask you a personal question?” my coworker asked.

“Sure,” I said, although I was immediately nervous.

“Do you have a pumpkin pie recipe?” she asked. “I am supposed to bring the pie on Thursday, and I always buy one, but then I thought I could make one.”

“Sure, are you going to use fresh pumpkin or canned?” I said.

That made another coworker laugh. “You thought it would be so simple,” she told the first one. “But no, it’s fresh or canned pumpkin?”

Here’s the thing: They aren’t interchangeable. Fresh pumpkin has a lot more moisture, even if you double-bake it or strain it. A recipe designed for one just won’t work with the other, at least in my experience.

My coworker decided to ease into the homemade pie business by using canned pumpkin. I gave her my mom’s recipe, which is fabulous. It makes two pies, and it’s really easy. It’s also delicious. Until I started making pie with the pumpkins G. and I grow, I thought my mom’s was the best ever. And I’d still take it over anyone else’s.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

4 tablespoons butter, melted
1 ½ cups sugar
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1 1/2 cups evaporated milk (12 oz. can Pet milk)
2 cups commercially canned pumpkin (we use Libby’s)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 pie crusts

Mix all the ingredients to create pie filling. Pour half in one crust and half in another. This recipe makes two pies.

Bake the pies at 450 degrees for 10 minutes. Then reduce the heat to 350 degrees and bake for another 45 to 50 minutes.

Leave a Reply

