Chai pots de creme, an Indian-inspired pudding

Chai pots de creme

Chai pudding has a lovely Indian influence in its use of spice and tastes remarkably like the tea.

I may have mentioned that my mom convinced me to get an iPad. I resisted for months, but now that I have it, I love it. I recently learned how to borrow ebooks from my local library and download them onto my Kindle app. This week I borrowed Bon Appetit Desserts by Barbara Fairchild. It includes a recipe for chai pots de creme. I love pudding and I love chai, so I thought: What could be better?

I was making it the other night when my mom called, and I got talking to her while cooking, which is never a good thing for my food. As a result, I forgot to add ginger and ended up letting the cream mixture steep for about an hour, rather than the recommended 15 minutes. Then I didn’t have any grated orange peel because I didn’t have an orange in the house, and it was late and I didn’t want to go get one. And, I forgot to cover the pan in foil. But aside from all that, my recipe was basically BA’s, and the result was delicious.

Making pudding is actually very easy, and I encourage you to try it. But maybe not while you’re on the phone.

Chai Pots de Creme

1 cup heavy whipping cream
1 cup milk (BA recommends whole, I used 1 percent)
1 tablespoon loose-leaf English Breakfast tea
1 cinnamon stick
8 whole cardamom pods (I cracked mine)
6 whole cloves
3 1/4-inch-thick rounds of peeled fresh ginger (I forgot this)
4 large egg yolks
1/2 cup packed golden brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon finely grated orange peel

Combine the cream, milk, tea, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves and ginger in a saucepan. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat, cover and let steep for at least 15 minutes. Strain into a bowl.

Whisk together the egg yolks, sugar and orange peel. Gradually whisk in the cream mixture.

Pour into ramekins and place in a water bath. BA recommends covering the entire pan with tinfoil and poking a few holes in the foil to let the steam escape.

Bake at 325 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes. When it’s done, the center of the custard will jiggle slightly when the cups are shaken gently.

Remove the ramekins from the water bath and let them cool on a rack. Chill uncovered until cold.

Leave a Reply

