Easy blueberry pie

I made blueberry pie with the berries G. and I picked in Michigan.

I feel like I blew my big chance. Two weeks ago, my post on oatmeal cookies got picked for Freshly Pressed. Readership soared over a 24-hour period. And then … nothing. Instead of capitalizing on the interest with another post, I took about a week off and hung out with my mom, who was visiting.

And then work was busy, so I took some more time off from posting. I am a bad blogger. Or at least, not a very ambitious blogger. In truth, for me, this mostly a way to express myself, organize some of my recipes and get them to friends and family who subscribe. But I do really appreciate the attention from the rest of you!

And for those who are still sticking around, I have a great recipe for you: very, very easy blueberry pie.

I think I mentioned earlier that G. and I went to Michigan this summer to pick blueberries. We “rented” a bush from Joe’s Blueberries, which essentially just means we paid $35 in advance and then were able to pick 12 pounds of blueberries when we went to the farm. This is not a great deal for blueberries in Michigan. They cost about the same already picked at farm stands. But is a good deal if you live in Chicago, where they go for about $5 a pint.

Around the time of our trip, the New York Times posted a recipe online for blueberry pie filling that can be canned. I used that as the basis for my pie recipe, which is below.

I didn’t make any filling to preserve because G. had already frozen the berries we didn’t eat right away, and it’s honestly probably faster to thaw the berries, make a quick filling and bake the pie. The only reason I can see for canning the filling would be to give it as a gift at Christmas.

We’re not doing that. We’re keeping our berries and eating them with people we love. I made blueberry pie while Mom was visiting, and we had it one night for dessert after Mom made a fabulous London broil and I made a beet dish that I also posted. G. was there, and our friend Sharon, and it was a great night. You can’t beat good friends and good food.

Easy Blueberry Pie
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
Juice of one lemons (about 1/4 cup if using bottled lemon juice)
2 pints blueberries
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1 pie crust (I confess: I bought mine.)

In a medium sauce pan, combine water, sugar, cornstarch and lemon juice and whisk until smooth. Bring to a boil and add berries. The mixture will look gloppy. Return mixture to a boil for 1 minute. Smash some of the berries with a potato masher or the back of a spoon. Add extract and stir until filling just begins to thicken.

Scoop filling into a pie crust. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes. The pie will begin to bubble and filling will look thick. Cool. Eat. Yum!

One response to “Easy blueberry pie

  1. That looks really good, not to mention easy.

Leave a Reply

