Oatmeal and cherry cookies

oatmeal and cherry cookie

If you’re going to eat cookies on a low-glycemic diet, oatmeal seems to be your best bet.

I never thought much of oatmeal cookies when I was growing up. I always preferred chocolate chip or some other kind of chocolate.

But lately, I have been craving oatmeal cookies. I suspect it’s because I’ve been reading about low-glycemic diets, and most of the books say that if you’re going to eat a cookie, oatmeal is the best choice.

I made a batch of cookies a week or so ago with dried cherries. I ate the first one when it was still hot from the over and burned my mouth. After that, I got a grip and limited myself to one a day. They were really good.

Oatmeal and cherry cookies

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup 7-grain or whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup dried cherries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Combine flour, salt, baking powder and cinnamon in a bowl. Set aside.

Beat the vanilla and butter until creamy. Add the sugars and beat again. Beat in the eggs, one at a time.

Gradually add the flour mixture. Fold in the oats and cherries.

Drop spoonfuls on the cookie sheets, leaving at least 2 inches in between. The cookies will spread. Bake for 20-25 minutes, turning cookie sheet halfway through.

Let the cookies cool completely before removing them from trays.

39 responses to “Oatmeal and cherry cookies

  1. Oats are a must in most cookies for me – I love the texture they bring. These sound delicious 😀

  2. Yummy! Thanks for sharing.

  3. These look delicious! Have you tried using dried cranberries as well?

  4. want to try these today! 🙂
    can you check out my blog please, its new and i would love your feeback! i also just posted a healthy mug brownie recipe 🙂
    Thanks and love the recipes btw!

  5. Oats are good for weight loss.. check out my post about celebrity weight loss http://thesecretminds.blogspot.com/2012/08/alia-bhatt-weight-loss.html

  6. Printing and heading to Publix! Can’t wait to try this, never thought about adding cherries. I Pinned you too.
    hugs, JoyceAnn

  7. Oatmeal cookies are my favorite! Especially oatmeal and peanut butter. But I’m going to have to try these.

  8. Nice cookies. i’m drooling now.

  9. this looks soo very delicious!! i would love to try making them.. 🙂

  10. Poetry and Musings

    yummy – thank you for sharing!! have a great day!! 🙂

  11. I love oatmeal cookies 😀 I had one last week with raisins and lemon zest – soo good!

  12. Yum! These look amazing! Thank you for the weekend baking inspiration!! 🙂

  13. Joyful in Christ

    I just decided what my next cookie is going to be! These sound delicious. i cannot wait to try them.

  14. Sounds delish!

  15. These look great! My dad is diabetic so I’m always looking for low glycemic recipes and I can tell he misses those treats. Will be giving these a go :).

  16. Looks great can’t wait to try them! Haha I can totally relate to the not being able to wait for baked goods to cool geez control yourself haha

  17. Love the fact that you used some whole wheat flour in yours, I try to incorporate WW, in any recipe that I make and love cookies, and have tried to incorporate fiber in some way into mine but not the Oatmeal Cookies (which I love) and the addition of dried cherries is great!
    Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

  18. I’ve been reading tons about the GIndex.. but life and cravings sometimes intervene! I love the look of these cookies! Happy to be following your blog now!

  19. Yummy…But has to be sugar free for me….

  20. Reblogging…I love oatmeal cookies

  21. Reblogged this on What's For Dinner? and commented:
    YUM! Love any variation on oatmeal cookies!

  22. thank you

  23. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! I make chocolate chip oatmeal cookies all the time, but never thought to substitute dried cherries. Great idea….but then you already knew that! Thanks!

  24. Looks delicious! Live cherries in cookies!

  25. Yum, that sounds like a good recipe. Also, it is good to know that if you are going to eat a cookie, then to choose oatmeal. I have a sweet tooth that challenges my desire to lose weight. I’d like to try your cookie recipe sometime. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  26. Love to try this one!

  27. Pingback: The Back 40 (recipe) « My Favorite Spaces

  28. These look delish. I love biscuit recipes. Might give making them ago with my kids later this week.

  29. Looks great! Nice idea to try some whole wheat flour in the cookies. You could add some chopped super dark chocolate too. It’d go well with cranberry, and stay healthy.

  30. These sound absolutely delicious. Can I kid myself that they are healthy because of the oatmeal, do you think?

  31. I never like oatmeal cookies growing up also, but then I had white chocolate and cranberry oatmeal cookies. Now I can’t get enough! These look delicious! I’ll have to try this recipe.

  32. looks so good!!!!!

    i may try a vegan approach to this. i made some vegan cupcakes with a normal cupcake recipe and substituted items for things im not allergic to. its posted on my blog. let me know what you think. tasted yummi

    Angela Chao
    http://www.chaobella.com

  33. nice! i am such a fan of oatmeal cookies…but not so much a fan of fruit when it’s dried. or cooked (like jam or berries in muffins etc). but cherries could be good. wonder what other kind of deliciousness could be put in here to sub cherries?!

  34. I need to try this for my bro, who loooves oatmeal cookies 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

