My first stir fry

20120715-215109.jpg

My doctor has spoken, and I need to take some serious steps to lower my blood sugar. Since I already watch the sweets, drink diet soda and avoid heavily processed foods, the next step for me seems to be giving up the trifecta of evil white foods: white bread, white rice and potatoes.

All three make your blood sugar soar.

The problem for me is that I love white rice. I could eat bowls and bowls of it, plain. And, of course, that is exactly what I’m not supposed to do.

So I am trying to learn to like brown rice. I made some last week to go with a stir fry that my mom sent me a recipe for, and it wasn’t bad. It was certainly more filling than white rice, probably because of the greater amount of fiber.

The stir fry was actually very good, and the nice thing about it is that you can use any vegetables that you have on hand.

Just take one chicken breast and cut it into bite-sized pieces. Chop vegetables into bite-sized pieces. (I used bok choy, carrots and green beans.) Put the pan on the stove and let it get hot. Add a little vegetable oil. Brown the chicken and then remove it from the pan. Add the vegetables to the pan and cook until they are starting to soften. Return the chicken to the pan, and add the brown sauce. Cook for a few minutes, until the chicken and vegetables are done and the sauce is starting to thicken. Serve over rice.

Brown Sauce
1/3 cup water or chicken broth
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon minced ginger
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil

Leave a Reply

