Peach and rhubarb cobbler

 

I made peach and rhubarb cobbler with some of the last rhubarb I expect to cut this year from our garden and peaches from the local produce market.

You know I love to bake. This week, I made peach and rhubarb cobbler from some of the last rhubarb from our garden and peaches I got at a local market. The rhubarb is still growing, but I’ll stop cutting it now so that the plants have time to store up energy for the winter.

I made the cobbler in the morning, and all day, I was looking forward to dessert. I made sure dinner was healthy and low in sugar and carbs, so that I could eat the cobbler without feeling too guilty. (My doctor called. My blood sugar is borderline still after this year’s checkup. So, I am not getting worse but the specter of diabetes looms.) As I spooned the cobbler into dishes, I said, “I am so excited about cobbler!”

G. said, “Me too!”

Biggie B. looked expectant too, but he didn’t get any. Instead, he spent the night gnawing on a steak bone.

The cobbler was such a treat, with the bright, fresh flavors of summer. When I made it, I went half-and-half with the fruit, using three peaches and about eight stalks of rhubarb.

To make cobbler, I use a recipe I got nearly a decade ago from a publication I can’t remember. It’s a flexible recipe from Mark Scarbrough, meaning it allows you to use whatever fruit, or combination of fruit, you have on hand. There are two basic formulas — one for berries and so-called stone fruits, such as peaches, apricots and cherries, and one for apples or pears. Then it has two types of topping, and either topping can be used with either fruit recipe. You just stir together the ingredients for the fruit filling, pour the mixture into an 8- or 9-inch square pan, make the topping, drop it on top, and you’re ready to go. You bake the cobbler at 375 degrees for about 45 minutes.

Fruit formula for berries and stone fruits
5 1/2 cups berries or pitted chopped stone fruits
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons quick-cook tapioca (such as Kraft’s Minute Tapioca)
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon almond extract

Fruit formula for apples or pears
5 cups sliced, cored, peeled apples and/or pears
1/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon quick-cook tapioca (such as Kraft’s Minute Tapioca)
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

Oat topping
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup rolled oats (do not use quick-cooking oats)
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup finely chopped walnuts
1/4 cup canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Biscuit topping (this is the one I prefer)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup non-fat milk
1/3 cup rolled oats (do not use quick-cooking oats)
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
2 teaspoons baking powder

One response to “Peach and rhubarb cobbler

  1. This is gorgeous! You are amazing, wish I can do something like that too! =)

Leave a Reply

