An app improves my diet

Two cups of strawberries contains 14 grams of sugar. I had no idea.

I think I mentioned that I recently got a new iPad. I have been spending a lot of time with an app called MyFitnessPal. It tracks your calories and how much you burn when you exercise to help you lose weight. I don’t necessarily want to lose weight, but I felt like I had been gradually increasing my portions, and I wanted to get a grip on that. I also wanted to see how I was doing in terms of nutrition.

I realized almost immediately that my portions had gotten way out of whack. When I eat appropriate portions, I’m always hungry. I hope my stomach adjusts soon because this is really rather miserable.

The other thing I have been alarmed by is the amount of sugar I consume. I’m constantly getting flagged on that. I think part of it is because the program doesn’t distinguish between added sugar and sugar that occurs naturally in foods. I get flagged on days when I eat strawberries, milk and yogurt because they all contain natural sugar.

But, I also realized I eat more added sugar than I thought. I love to bake, and all those muffins are just bad, bad, bad. And my morning chai? Well, let’s just say my doctor will likely reprimand me when I go in for my checkup this week.

I’m trying to address the problem with baby steps. Sugar is a drug on the brain, and I know if I quit cold turkey, I’ll likely relapse hard. I reduced the sugar by 1/3 when I made my latest batch of chai, and this weekend was muffin-free. I know I still have a long way to go, though. Right now, I have ice cream on my mind.

One response to “An app improves my diet

Leave a Reply

