Garlic scape hummus

I’m sure it’s clear by now that things aren’t going well with our garden this year. Last year, we were harvesting beets at this time. This year, we have about a half-dozen little seedlings barely hanging on. We have no carrots or parsnips. The ground cherry seeds were a complete bust.

I am trying not to despair and to be grateful for what we do have. Right now, that’s a lot of lettuce. And we ended up with a small amount of strawberries, so I was able to make G.’s mom four jars of jam last week. That’s nothing compared to the more than a dozen we gave her last year, but it’s something’s, given that she eats peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for lunch each day.

Then, I was happy to see garlic scapes shooting off our plants. The scape is the long stem leading to the garlic blossom. It’s edible, and it has a nice, mild garlic flavor. I found a recipe for garlic scape hummus at a garlic farm website and made a batch this afternoon. I had to tweak it some because I didn’t have enough sesame seeds on hand. And I had some yogurt I wanted to use, so my version is like this:

Garlic Scape Hummus

1 can low-sodium chick peas, drained
1/4 cup garlic scrapes, chopped
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup sesame seeds
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 cup plain yogurt

Toss all the ingredients in a blender and purée. The mixture will be thick, so feel free to add water until it’s a consistency that suits you. I added about 1/4 cup, gradually, so that I could keep tabs on the texture.

20120617-183905.jpg

2 responses to “Garlic scape hummus

  1. Love love this recipe!

  2. Aha! Thank you! I’ve been trying to think of a new hummus, and happen to have a leek scape on hand. Yum.

Leave a Reply

