Garden Diary: We planted!

My new perennial, Dianthus “Blushing Maiden.” G. slipped and let me walk into the garden center at Menard’s for “just a minute.” Out we walked with the pink flower. These trips are never a minute, and I never “just look.”

G. said something cute to me last night at dinner. We were having chicken, cauliflower and beet salad.

“I love you, baby,” he said. “When you are here, I eat like a king. When you’re not, I eat like a homeless person.”

It’s funny mostly because it’s true. I need to convince him to take soup of out of the freezer, thaw it and heat it himself. It’s not hard, and it’s better than whatever else he’s eating. I’m sure of it because he doesn’t tell me what he eats when left alone.

But anyway, tonight is pasta because I am tired. G. took a half-day off of work yesterday, and we planted part of the garden, and today I planted more on my own.

We have all the seeds in now. For the record, today, I planted pumpkins (Rouge vif D’Etampes and small pie), butternut squash, melons, delicata squash, peas, zucchini, cucumbers (white, Mexican sour gherkin and Chicago pickling), ground cherries and marigolds.

Yesterday, we planted fennel, onion, leek, parsnip, cauliflower, cabbage (red, Pac Choi and Napa), red beets and carrots.

We plan to buy eggplant, tomato and pepper plants when we get back from Grand Nationals and plant them that day to avoid a repeat of last year. That’s when we planted the week before we left, had a cold snap and came back to find all the plants dead or barely clinging to life.

Cilantro, with parsley behind it to the left, and strawberries behind to the right.

One thing we’ve been lucky with this year: Our parsley and cilantro replanted itself, came up as soon as it thawed and is flourishing.

My transplanted oregano (front) is thriving, as are the chives (rear) we moved last year too.

Also, the oregano that we moved in the fall is thriving in its new, sunnier location. And, we have a couple of stalks of asparagus that now come to my knee. Of course, my knee is not very high, as I am very short, but still, it’s a good feeling.

2 responses to “Garden Diary: We planted!

  1. Love the Dianthus – so pretty! One note of caution about that cilantro: I had a similar-sized clump reseed itself into every nook and cranny of my strawberry bed several years ago, and I thought I’d never get rid of it the next year or the year after…and my hands stunk like the soapy smell of cilantro for hours after weeding. It’s taken me a long time to warm up to planting it again, and this year it’s in a pot on the deck where I can watch it like a hawk.

    Happy gardening!
    Terry

  2. It sounds like you are going to have a wonderful garden this year. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

