Pumpkin pancakes

This morning, I had pumpkin pancakes for breakfast.

This morning, I had pumpkin pancakes for breakfast.

On Tuesday mornings, I get up four — yes, four — hours before I have to be at work so that I can go to an exercise class that G. and I fondly refer to as “boot camp.” It’s 20 minutes of cardio, 20 minutes of weights and 20 minutes of exercises for your core. It kicks my ass, and every Wednesday, I wake up hurting in a new place. I love it.

The other thing I love is that, having gotten up so early, once class is over, I have a couple of hours to myself before I go to work. Sometimes, I use the time to write an email, buy groceries or clean up my apartment. Sometimes, I just watch the Today show. On more than a few mornings, I’ve read a book I could barely bring myself to put down the night before.

Today, I invested the time in breakfast, making pumpkin pancakes. Mostly, it’s just nice to be able to do whatever I want without feeling like I need to be somewhere right away. I often think it’s the most peaceful time of my week.

Pumpkin Pancakes

8 ounces pumpkin, pureed
2 ounces butter, melted
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 ounce milk
6 ounces flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon ginger

Mix wet ingredients _ pumpkin, butter, eggs, vanilla and milk. Blend in dry ingredients.

Heat frying pan. Add a little grease (butter, oil) if the frying pan is not nonstick. Drop spoonfuls of batter in pan. When the top starts to bubble, flip pancakes.

This recipe makes 10 to 12 medium, fluffy pancakes. If you want thinner pancakes, add more milk to batter before cooking.

Leave a Reply

