Jimmy’s Pink Cookie

Sugar cookie with pink icing

The recipe for Jimmy’s Pink Cookie came from Molly Wizenberg. I don’t know Jimmy, but she does.

I just ate the last of my pink cookies. They were delicious, and only partly because I waited so long to make them. Over a year, in fact. My mom gave me Molly Wizenberg’s book soon after I started my blog and shortly before I started taking a food history course at Kendall College. After I finished class, it was time to set up the garden, then it was canning season, and then … I don’t know, time got away from me.

All the while, I wanted to make Jimmy’s Pink Cookies. The recipe is on page 132 of Molly’s book, and she sold them to me with this line: “though I am usually a chocolate chip kind of person, I have fallen hard for the pink cookie.” What it was about that line I don’t know, but it has been running around in my head for over a year. Every once in a while I think, “I have fallen hard for the pink cookie.”

More accurately, I had fallen hard for the idea of the pink cookie. And then, in February, when G. was traveling, I made a batch. I gave him a few for post-Valentine’s Day, and then I ate a few. They freeze well, which is good because they are too rich to consume at once. We took some to a party last weekend, and then I had two left.

I ate one yesterday in a fit of stress at work. I ate the other this morning, much faster than intended. I took a nibble. And then another, and then before I knew it, the cookie was gone. I miss it already.

Molly has a fabulous blog, but I didn’t find the pink cookie on it, so I’m going to share the recipe. Go out and buy her book anyway though, because there are many, many awesome recipes in it. Plus, she’s a great storyteller.

Jimmy’s Pink Cookies

12 ounces butter (3 sticks)
1 cup powdered sugar
3 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 batch Jimmy’s Pink Cookie frosting (see below)

Beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. In a medium bowl, combine flour and salt and whisk well. With mixer on low, add flour mixture to butter mixture, beating until flour is just absorbed. Add vanilla and beat to incorporate.

Lay plastic wrap on a clean surface. Gather dough into a ball, press it into a thick disk and wrap in plastic. Refrigerate for one hour.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line two or three baking sheets with parchment paper.

On a clean, floured surface, roll the dough out to a thickness of 3/8 inch. Use a cookie cutter to cut into whatever shape you wish. Place the cookies on the baking sheets at least 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake sheets one at a time, keeping unbaked cookies in the refrigerator until ready to go into the oven. Bake for 16 to 20 minutes until cookies are pale gold. Don’t let them brown. Let cookies cool completely on pan before frosting.

Frosting for Jimmy’s Pink Cookies

8 ounces cream cheese
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
3 cups powdered sugar
1 ¼ teaspoon kirsch OR about 1/2 to 1 teaspoon cherry extract
red food coloring

Beat cream cheese and butter. Add powdered sugar and beat, scraping down the sides of the bowl to make sure it’s all incorporated. Add kirsch or cherry extract and one or two drops of food coloring. Beat. Frosting should be pale pink. Add more coloring if needed. Taste icing and add more kirsch or cherry extract if needed. Frost! And don’t be afraid to do it with a heavy hand. The frosting is what makes the cookie. Store frosted cookies in the refrigerator.

2 responses to “Jimmy’s Pink Cookie

  1. Wow, those pink cookies looks delicious. Perhaps I’ll try and make them sometime. Or maybe I’ll just make the frosting. They look yumm perhaps its because of the color.

  2. Pink cookies..purple cookies..green cookies. ANY cookies for me please..these are cute!

Leave a Reply

