My mom’s ginger cookies

I love gingerbread, and a few years ago, maybe more than a few now, my mom sent me some ginger cookies that were fabulous. Really, really great.

She also sent me the recipe.

I tried to make them. It was a mess. The cookies spread so they were very thin. I couldn’t cook them very long or I’d risk burning them. Some I didn’t cook long enough, and they were super chewy, and really, not quite done. They fell apart when I tried to scrape them off the cookie sheet.

I never made them again.

Every so often, my mom would make them and send them to me. Hers were always good. Then, when I was going to visit her for her birthday, she suggested we make them. I told her they never turn out right for me. She said that was odd, they always turn out for her.

Then, we were talking to my aunt, and she said she could make the cookies when she lived in North Carolina but hasn’t been able to get them right since she moved to Texas. Based on this, my mom thinks you might need to live near sea level, but neither my aunt or I live at a high elevation.

I measured the ingredients and then weighed them to see if the ratios were off, but the ratios aren’t standard, so that didn’t shed a lot of light on the issue for me.

My mom thought it was a “user error” and I was doing something wrong, but I made them at her house last weekend, and they turned out perfectly. I ate two immediately, which is pretty much how I know something is awesome. If I have to have seconds right away, it’s awesome.

The question now is where else will these cookies turn out? If you make them, let me know where you are and how it goes.

Ginger Cookies

2 1/2 cups flour (10.9 ounces)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon diced crystalized ginger

1/2 teaspoon allspice

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1 1/4 cup brown sugar (6.75 ounces)

3/4 cup butter (6 ounces)

1 egg

1/4 cup molasses (2.7 ounces)

Cream butter and sugar. Mix in egg. Mix in molasses.

Combine dry ingredients. Add incrementally, beating as you go.

Make dough into balls about the diameter of a silver dollar and roll in sugar. Place on lightly greased cookie sheet. Press balls down slightly so they become little disks.

Bake for 20 minutes in a 300-degree oven.

Makes 20 medium cookies.

(This recipe apparently originated in Mrs. Field’s Cookie Book but came to me from my mom after passing through a few friends.)

Leave a Reply

