Honey and lemon poppy seed cookies


I’ve been playing a bit with Michael Ruhlman‘s basic cookie recipe, just to see what happens with different sugars and leavening agents.

In the cookie below, I substituted honey and raw cane sugar for white sugar. I also added some baking powder to make the cookie a bit fluffier than standard shortbread. I could have used an egg to fluff it up, but I didn’t because I wanted to make a small batch, and I figured I needed to use at least 12 ounces of flour to make the egg work.

I ended up adding a tablespoon of lemon juice because after I added the lemon zest, the cookie didn’t have enough of a lemon taste. I still don’t think it does. I wonder if I needed to use a fresher lemon?

At any rate, here’s the recipe to try if you wish. It’s not bad but not where I want it to be. I’m sure I’ll be revisiting it.

Honey and Lemon Poppy Seed Cookies

4 ounces butter, softened

1.5 ounces honey

1/2 ounce raw cane sugar (or brown sugar)

6 ounces all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

zest of 1 lemon

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon poppy seeds

Cream butter, honey and sugar together. Stir in flour and baking powder. Stir in lemon zest, lemon juice, vanilla and poppy seeds.

Drop balls of dough on ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten to desired thickness with fork.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

