Banana chip muffins

Banana muffin with chocolate chips.

If you followed my recent directions for ripening green tomatoes with a banana, you now probably have an overripe banana somewhere in your kitchen. I used mine to make banana muffins.

I thought about doing a “Fat Elvis” muffin, with chocolate and peanut butter chips. I was thinking about the Fat Elvis ice cream I get at my favorite ice cream shop in Milwaukee. But then I thought that was kind of like piling sugar on sugar and might be too much.

So, I just made banana muffins with chocolate chips because G. likes everything better with chocolate chips. He took two to work the other day, but made a point of telling me that one was for his best friend there. I wouldn’t have minded if he ate two. I probably would have frowned at three _ at least all at once.

Banana Chip Muffins

1 banana, mashed

1 cup chocolate chips

2 ounces (1/2 stick) butter, melted

2 eggs

8 ounces milk

4 ounces brown sugar

8 ounces flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

Mix butter, eggs and milk. Stir in sugar _ at this point, I would switch from an electric mixer to a wooden spoon if I hadn’t started with just a spoon. You don’t want to over-mix the batter.

Stir in flour, baking soda and salt. Stir in banana. Stir in chips.

Pour batter into greased muffin tin or use paper muffin cups. Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

Makes 12 muffins.

Leave a Reply

