Cranberry yogurt pecan muffins

I opened a jar of homemade yogurt the other day that had been sitting in G.’s refrigerator for a while. It was moldy. So were the other jars. I had to throw three out.

I felt guilty for wasting food, and then I started to worry the yogurt in my refrigerator in Chicago also was going bad because it was about the same age. I didn’t see any mold in it, and it passed the sniff test so I had yogurt with granola for breakfast for a couple of days.

But I felt like it could turn any minute, so with about a cup left, I did what I do with a lot of leftovers: I baked it into a muffin.

The recipe below also allowed me to use the rest of the cranberry compote I had in my refrigerator and some chopped nuts that have been sitting around since …. well, I can’t really remember when. It was another day of cleaning out the cabinets by cooking.

Just so you know: The recipe below will provide a denser muffin than the corn muffins I posted earlier this week because yogurt replaces the milk, reducing the amount of moisture. Also, the cranberry taste won’t be as strong as in the cranberry pound cake because there’s no swirl, the cranberry compote is completely stirred into the batter.

It’s a mild but tasty muffin. I ate one and then ate another because I couldn’t help myself.

Cranberry Yogurt Pecan Muffins

8 ounces flour

4 ounces Demerara sugar (feel free to substitute white or brown sugar)

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup plain, unflavored yogurt

2 eggs

2 ounces butter (1/2 stick), melted

1 cup cranberry compote (about 8 ounces)

3/4 cup chopped pecans

Beat together butter and eggs. Beat in yogurt. Add sugar and beat again.

Add the rest of the dry ingredients and cranberry compote to the bowl and stir in. Don’t beat it with an electric mixer at this point.

Stir in pecans.

If you aren’t using paper muffin wrappers, grease your muffin tin before adding batter.

Bake muffins at 350 degrees until a toothpick comes out clean. That’s about 20 minutes in my oven, but it tends to run hot.

Makes about 12 muffins.

One response to “Cranberry yogurt pecan muffins

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz

    yum, these make my mouth water! loving the flavor combo!

Leave a Reply

