Oatmeal with cranberry compote

Oatmeal with a puree of cranberries and honey.

My best friend T. is coming to visit tomorrow, and I’ve been trying to clean up my apartment in anticipation. T. has neat freak tendencies, and I say that with approval. I do too. But my standards have slipped since I started dating G. There’s too much to do all the time. These days, I clean only when my apartment irks me enough that I can’t focus on anything else until it’s dealt with. And so, I’ve picked up and vacuumed, and I dusted not long ago, but I am still afraid T. will be horrified.

Of course, being me, one of the tasks involved in picking up was processing a bucket of tomatoes that’s been sitting on my kitchen counter. I made a quick batch of pasta sauce last night and then skinned and froze the rest.

I also had a small container of cranberries that needed to be used because they were getting soft in my refrigerator. For some reason, the cranberries G. bought this year at the cranberry festival aren’t holding up as well as the ones he bought last year.

Anyway, I made a quick compote to have with my oatmeal in the morning. I stopped buying flavored instant oatmeal a few years ago when I realized how much salt it contains. G. has high blood pressure.

Instead, I buy plain oatmeal with no salt, and then I usually add fruit or a spoonful of pumpkin butter or something like that to perk it up. G. likes to add honey and Craisins.

The cranberry compote is sharp. Even with honey added, it’s a little sour, so if you make it, add it slowly to your cereal and taste as you go.

Cranberry Compote

2 cups fresh cranberries

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup honey

Wash and drain cranberries. Chop them in a food processor until they are almost a puree but a few chunks remain.

Transfer them to a small saucepan and add the water and honey. Bring to a boil over medium heat. As the compote warms, it will develop a better consistency.

Cook the compote just long enough to make sure that any cranberry chunks that remain are soft. Store in refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

