Enchilada sauce with avocado and tomatillos


My mom flew in this week to help me can and freeze vegetables. With the harvest full-on, I can use all the help I can get.

We’re growing four tomatillo plants this year, and one is producing fruit so far. The others seem developmentally delayed.

We grew tomatillos for the first time last year. I decided I had to have them after seeing a recipe for green enchilada sauce in a Rachel Ray cookbook. I love enchiladas verde and order them whenever I go to a Mexican restaurant. I thought if I could make them at home, that would be fantastic.

G. wasn’t keen on tomatillos at first. The plants look weird, and he’d never heard of them and had no idea what to do with them.

But that changed once he tried the sauce. It’s one of the few things I make that tastes exactly like something you’d eat in a restaurant. We both took one bite and were like, wow!

That was Mom’s reaction too, when we made a batch of sauce this week. She ended up taking some tomatillos with her on the plane to North Carolina.

I’ve changed the recipe a bit. I use a few more tomatillos and a little less liquid than Rachel. I also use water instead of chicken broth because I rarely have homemade broth handy.

You can fill the enchiladas with anything you like. We had shredded chicken this week, but I often make them with black beans. Shredded pork is good too.

Once the enchiladas are assembled, I put them in the oven at 350 degrees just until the cheese on top is melted.

Green Enchilada Sauce

1 pound tomatillos (about a dozen)

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 tablespoon olive Oil

1 small onion, chopped

1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped

10 ounces water

1 teaspoon cumin

salt

1 avocado

leaves from 1 sprig fresh oregano, chopped

Husk tomatillos and remove cores. Chop in food processor.

Put olive oil in pan, heat it, add chopped onion. When onion starts to soften, add jalapeno and garlic. Cook a few minutes.

Add tomatillos and water. Add cumin, chopped oregano and salt to taste. Let cook about 20 minutes.

Scoop out avocado and mash. Stir into sauce.

At this point, I puree with a hand blender to make the sauce smooth.

Sauce can be used immediately or frozen.

Leave a Reply

