Phoenix restaurants: Pizzeria Bianco

The Biancoverde with fresh mozzarella, Parmigiano Reggiano, ricotta and arugala.

I just spent several days in Phoenix for work, and we went to several nice restaurants, including Gallo Blanco and The Arrogant Butcher. Of those two, I preferred Gallo Blanco because the food wasn’t as heavy.

But, my favorite meal was at Pizzeria Bianco, a tiny pizza joint in the city’s historic area. Ten co-workers and I stopped in for a quick lunch, and the staff was very nice about seating and serving us quickly so those of us with flights to catch could make them.

We started by ordering five of the six pizzas on their menu. We skipped the Marinara (tomato sauce, oregano and garlic, no cheese), assuming it would be similar to the Margherita (tomato sauce, fresh mozzarella and basil). But we could have ordered the Marinara too because we quickly wolfed down all the pizza we had ordered and then ordered three more. We did seconds on the Margherita, the Rosa (red onion, Parmigiano Reggiano, rosemary and pistachios) and the Wiseguy (onion, smoked mozzarella and fennel sausage).

Of the three I sampled, I liked the Margherita best. But the Rosa and Biancoverde were delicious and different.

The Sonny Boy with salami and olives.

The men ate the meat pizzas like there was no tomorrow. At one point, one of mycolleagues got up to leave for a training session he had to attend, and a co-worker who was supposed to ride with him said something along the lines of, “Can you wait just a minute so I can get one more slice?”

I didn’t have my camera with me, but a friend took pictures with his cellphone. We couldn’t get a shot of a whole pizza because the slices were snatched up too fast. As he snapped the shot of the Sonny  Boy, to the left, another co-worker was already reaching to grab the final slice off the pan.

If I’m ever back in Phoenix, this is definitely the place I’ll go.

Leave a Reply

