Beet this appetizer


I think I’ve consumed a dozen pounds or more of beets in the past month, and to tell the truth, I’m getting just a tiny bit tired of them. I mean, I still love them. But I looked at the roasted beet salad in my lunch recently and had no desire to eat it.

I need a break, a change. I made some beet soup, which is one of G.’s favorites, but that wasn’t enough of a break.

So, to try to put a spark back in my relationship with the root vegetable, I made tapenade. If you are like G., your response to that is: A tapa what? A spread. It’s a spread, I told him.

It’s also a super easy appetizer that would be great for parties because it’s so colorful. I spotted the recipe when I was flipping through Stacey Printz‘s book. Basically, you grind up roasted beets with some walnuts and seasonings.

There’s a really pretty picture in Stacey’s book. By the time I thought to take one of my own, we had eaten most of the bread and yogurt that I served with the tapenade, so my picture is kind of the last bite. But at least you know it was good enough that we were focused on eating and not on photography!

Here’s the recipe in case you too need something to snap you out of out some mid-summer doldrums.

Beet Tapenade

8 ounces roasted, steamed or boiled beets

 1/2 cup walnuts

 2 tablespoons Balsamic vinegar

 1 tablespoon olive oil

 1/2 teaspoon salt

 Pepper to taste

Put all ingredients in a food processor and blend to a coarse but spreadable paste. Serve with crackers or bread and some soft cheese or thick yogurt.

One response to “Beet this appetizer

  1. What an unusual way to use beet…but a delicious way of using beets. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

