It takes a village to make a strawberry lassi

I got a lot of encouragement and feedback after my recent post about my disastrous attempt at making yogurt. Rufus kindly suggested I check out Carolyn Chan’s blog, which I did. That inspired me to buy a yogurt maker, thus relieving myself of the need to babysit and warm the yogurt-in-process.

I bought the Euro Cuisine Yogurt Maker and then found out my mother’s boyfriend had read my blog and sent me the exact same one! But it’s good because now I have one in both states.

A friend of mine in New York read my post and messaged to tell me she makes yogurt all the time, and it’s easy. We started chatting and it turns out she has the same yogurt maker. She also recommended the Book of Yogurt, which I had just ordered with my yogurt maker. We are now the yogurt twins.

Anyway, all the packages arrived, and I successfully made a batch of yogurt in Chicago. Then I went to Wisconsin and made one there. And, with our garden producing perfect strawberries, I have taken in the past week or so to making strawberry lassies. Yum! My lassies are a little tart, so add a bit more honey if you want yours sweeter.

And thank you to everyone who gave me advice, sent me gifts and told me to keep trying!

Strawberry Lassi

4 ounces fresh strawberries

5 ounces yogurt

1 ounce cold water

1 teaspoon honey (which is about 1/4 ounce)

Clean and hull strawberries. Slice in half. Place in blender with yogurt, water and honey. Blend. If you want it sweeter, add more honey. It’s that easy!

Leave a Reply

