A recipe for moist and tasty ginger scones


I love scones, just as I love bread and most bread-like foods. The first time I had scones was during a trip to England after my college graduation 20 years ago. Now, of course, they’re common in the U.S.

I tried to make them at home once before, using a recipe from a food magazine, but the end product was dry and the crust hard. Recently I tried again, adapting a recipe from the New York Times. Essentially, I cut some sugar and added ginger nibs for flavor.

G. said they were the best scones he’d ever had. Actually, he said something like, “These are good, and I don’t even like scones. They’re always really dry.”

These aren’t, and they’re very easy to make. Try them!

Ginger Scones

2 cups cake flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons sugar

5 tablespoons butter, cut into pieces

1 egg

1/2 cup heavy cream

2 ½ ounces ginger nibs

Heat oven to 450 degrees.

Put flour, salt, baking powder and sugar in a food processor. Add butter and pulse until the mixture resembles cornmeal.

Add ginger nibs, egg and heavy cream to form a sticky dough.

Turn onto a lightly floured surface. Knead a couple of times and then roll dough out to 1/2- to 3/4-inch thickness. Cut with a cookie or biscuit cutter.

Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet for 9 to 11 minutes. Makes about 10 scones.

2 responses to “A recipe for moist and tasty ginger scones

  1. I really need to try my hand at scones someday! I love to order them out as a special treat, but it sounds like something I might be able to accomplish at home. These sound great. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Those look just delicious. I think that heavy cream must be so wonderful in the batter.

Leave a Reply

