G.’s mom’s banana bread

I had to make something sweet the other night for the first meeting of a book group that a co-worker and I are starting. I had some overly ripe bananas on the counter, left from when S. and I made bananas foster, so I decided to make banana bread.

I used a recipe I got from G.’s mom, which is excellent. I made it plain, but you could easily add nuts or chocolate chips.
I’d been making my mom’s zucchini-banana bread, but I don’t really like it. It has oats in it, and it’s healthy, but I always feel like there’s a slightly off taste that reminds me of cleaning solution. I made the bread once and didn’t like it. I told my mom, but she said it was really good when she made it. I tried again, but I still didn’t like it, and that time I gave some to G., and he didn’t eat it _ and he’ll eat pretty much anything.

G.’s mom’s recipe is totally unhealthy, with sugar and butter. But it tastes great. G. says I’m making him fat with all the baked goods, so I just left the leftovers with the co-worker who hosted the book club. I figure I’ll work on making other people’s families fat for a while.

G.’s Mom’s Banana Bread

2 bananas, mashed
1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
3 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Mash bananas. Combine sugar and butter. Add egg. Add bananas, vanilla and milk. Add dry ingredients. Pour into greased loaf pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

